Electronic Pioneers Kraftwerk Announce Rare Residency At LA’s Walt Disney Concert Hall

Pioneering German electronic band Kraftwerk has announced a rare residency at Los Angeles’ Walt Disney Concert Hall, commencing this spring.

In celebration of the 50th anniversary of their 1974 album Autobahn, the nine-show run will begin on May 21, 2024. 

The concert series will see Kraftwerk perform eight of their iconic albums in full, including Radio-Activity (1975), Trans Europe Express (1977), The Man-Machine (1978), Computer World (1981), Techno Pop (1986), The Mix (1991) and Tour de France (2003), in addition to Autobahn.

The final show on May 30 will serve as a finale with “groundbreaking works spanning five decades of the Kraftwerk repertoire,” according to the Los Angeles Philharmonic Association.

Often considered the single most influential pioneer of electronic music, Kraftwerk was formed in 1970 by Ralf Hütter and Florian Schneider, the latter of whom died in 2020 following a battle with cancer. Hütter has continued to perform alongside a number of rotating members, currently Henning Schmitz, Falk Grieffenhagen and Georg Bongartz.

Kraftwerk is largely responsible for spearheading a new wave of music at the end of the 20th century, with cult classics like “Das Model” and “Computer Love” reshaping the way people thought about music and performance art on the precipice of a new digital age. The Grammy-winning band was inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 2021.

Tickets for each of Kraftwerk’s Walt Disney Concert Hall residency dates are now available here. Check out the complete list of dates below.

Tuesday, May 21, 2024, at 8PM – Autobahn 

Wednesday, May 22, 2024, at 8PM – Radio-Activity 

Thursday, May 23, 2024, at 8PM – Trans Europe Express 

Friday, May 24, 2024, at 8PM – The Man-Machine 

Saturday, May 25, 2024, at 8PM – Computer World 

Sunday, May 26, 2024, at 8PM – Techno Pop 

Tuesday, May 28, 2024, at 8PM – The Mix 

Wednesday, May 29, 2024, at 8PM – Tour de France 

Thursday, May 30, 2024, at 8PM – Finale with compositions from the entire catalog

Featured image credit: Andréas Hagström.

Inspired by: edmmaniac.com

Related articles

Circoloco Announces 25th Anniversary Ibiza Season

April 29 - October 14 at DC-10Celebrating 25 Years...

andhim Revamp Olive’s ‘90s Dance Classic “You’re Not Alone” Veteran Dance Duo Returns To Diplo’s Higher Ground Label

Buy / Stream: andhim - You're Not Alonehttps://higherground.ffm.to/yourenotaloneFEBRUARY 29,...

ULTRA EUROPE Releases Phase 1 Lineup For 10th Edition

Headliners include Adam Beyer, Armin Van Buuren, Boris Brejcha,...

Discover more from Techno & House Music

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading